Comfort Over Trend?

Comfort over style? No. Comfort over trend? Yes!

Comfort is my top priority when I dress. I’ve figured out what works for me and I stick to it. I’ve never been about avant-garde or funky looks, and I’ve always felt most at ease in clean, simple styles. Through some trial and error I’ve learned that I look best in fitted jackets, pants with narrow legs that flare slightly at the bottom, and slim-cut sweaters. OMG, I remember once when someone actually made me buy a tapered slim leg Levi’s – when it was really trendy then. Heck, what was I thinking? It made me look like a toad a.k.a. the frog leg look and yes, I only wore it twice and had given that away. $80 just disappeared into thin air.

Lesson learnt: I’ll never ever squeeze my legs into slim cut pants. If you have thunder thighs like me, stay away from those. Don’t risk being spotted as a walking frog. The worst is wearing that with flats. Yes, think Robin Hood’s Men in Tights.

I’ve always admired women whose clothes reflect their personal style. As I get older, women who dress young and fresh (but who don’t look like they’re trying to compete with their daughter’s style) inspire me. To name one, it’s Pastor Maree de Jong, she’s an absolute doll! J

I think it’s important to be comfortable (and stylish) in your clothes – but remember comfortable doesn’t mean sloppy. You can never go wrong if you keep it simple and elegant. This is a time when less is more! Opt for the best fabrics and shoes that your budget allows. Stay aware of the trends without following them too literally. Evaluate your wardrobe on a regular basis (one or two times a year) and get rid of anything that is worn out and shows signs of aging (unless it’s a an invaluable vintage piece). If an item of clothing or pair of shoes isn’t comfortable or if you haven’t worn it in the last two years, it’s time to let it go.

Leave a comment